It’s National Coming Out Day

Today is National Coming Out Day for the LGBT community, and it provides Christians with a tremendous opportunity to serve this community so often feared and maligned by those of us on the Christian side of the “Gays vs. Christians” cultural war.

So I would like to take this opportunity for a time of “coming out” myself, a time of confession and repentance. I am coming out as a former “homophobic conservative Christian.”

I have feared you unjustly. Please, forgive me.

I have maligned you unjustly. Please, forgive me.

I have dehumanized you unjustly. Please, forgive me.

I have believed false witnesses concerning you. Please, forgive me.

I been “weirded out” by you unjustly. Please, forgive me.

I have seen your struggles as the destruction of Western society unjustly. Please, forgive me.

I have viewed you as enemies, but even when I have done so I have disobeyed the commands of my Lord, who said, “Love your enemies.” Please, forgive me.

I have rejoiced over your problems and laughed at your lives unjustly. Please, forgive me.

There are still many Christians who still think and do these things. Please, forgive them, for they know not what they do.

Leave a Reply

